Local China Time:
January 26, 2013


Australia´s Connor O’Leary, getting vertical on his way to the highest heat score of the day,15.50. Photo: ISA/Gonzales

The competition moved from the point at Riyue Bay to Rocky Rights

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival
January 25 to 30, 2013
Wanning, Hainan, China

Wanning, Hainan, China, January 26, 2013- The International Surfing Association is pleased to announce the ISA China Cup has begun.

The 8 participating National Surfing Teams, along with their 48 surfers, traveled from every corner of the globe to compete in tropical Wanning, on Hainan Island in the South China Sea, for the second annual event.

The surfers faced tough conditions with peaky 2-3ft beach-break waves at Rocky Rights, a few hundred yards down from the primary contest site, which was not picking up the ENE wind swell. The first heat of the competition took place just after noon, when there were nearly one thousand Chinese spectators on the beach, taking photos of the teams and generally enjoying the action.

“The world’s best surfers showed today they can perform at a very high level even in challenging surfing conditions,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “It was amazing to see a large crowd of Chinese locals on the beach watching the competition and enjoying the experience of being close to all the National Teams. We are expecting an increase in the swell for the final day tomorrow, and I am certain it will be an exciting race to the Gold Medal and the ISA China Cup Trophy.”

Alessa Quizon (HAW) goes fin free and was the Women´s standout performer of the day. Photo: ISA/Gonzales

The day kicked off with the Men’s Qualifying Round 1 with 8 heats completed. Afterwards, the women got their chance to perform on Rocky Rights’ consistent waves in 4 heats of Qualifying Round 1. The top two surfers in each heat advanced directly into Qualifying Round 2, while the third and fourth place surfers moved into the Repechage, or second, and last chance round.

The day was filled with upsets and dominant performances.

Hawaii’s Sunny Garcia, the 2000 ASP World Tour Champion, lost and moved into the Repechage, where he will have another opportunity to advance. One more third or fourth place finish for the super star, and he will be eliminated from the competition.

Australia’s Connor O’Leary led the charge with the highest scoring heat total of the day, a two-wave score of 15.50 points, dominating Deivid Silva (BRA, 10.17), Vasco Ribeiro (POR, 8.47), and Carlos Zapata (PER, 7.27).

The heat of the day featured the Brazilian, Michael Rodrigues, who earned a 15.44, narrowly defeating Australia’s Mitch Crews (14.70), Juninho Urcia (PER, 11.60), and Eduardo de Castro (POR, 8.34).

On the women’s side, the standout of the day was Hawaii’s Alessa Quizon, with a total heat score of 14.33. Finishing a distant second was Alize Arnaud (FRA, 11.00), Demi Boelsterli (USA, 4.02) and Hinako Kurokawa (JPN, 3.80).

Sunday is the final day of the 2-day ISA China Cup. Individual Men and Women’s Gold Medals will be determined. With only qualifying heats on Day One, all athletes remain in contention, and all 8 National Teams are still in the hunt for the Team Gold Medal and the 2013 ISA China Cup.

Official Forecaster, Surfline, has predicted the ENE swell to increase overnight, leading the event organizers to call for an early start, possibly at the main break, the left point at Riyue Bay.

For a full list of today’s results, click here- http://hainaninternationalsurfingfestival.com/china-cup/results/

Watch the Final Day of the ISA China Cup on the live webcast tomorrow- http://hainaninternationalsurfingfestival.com/china-cup/live/

Here is the schedule:
Sunday, 7:10am China
Saturday, 3:10pm West Coast USA
Sunday, 12:10am Western Europe
Sunday, 10:10am Sydney Australia

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 72 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on www.isasurf.org